Skip to content

52 Re-Deux: Week 2

January 11, 2011

As promised, here is my Re-Deux from last week-an old photo frame room divider/screen. How did I make it? Here’s how:

1. I sprayed the empty frame with 2 coats of black semi-gloss spray paint, letting it dry between coats.

2. I found images I took on the highway at night on the Twighlight setting (no worries, I wasn’t driving!) and had them printed in 8×10 size. The lights from oncoming cars, streetlights, and billboards streaked beautiful bright colors across a black background-love it!

3. There was nothing to hold the pictures in place and they were slightly too small for the openings, so I cut black foam core to fit (with an Exacto knife) by tracing around the glass panes that came with the screen frame to get the correct size.

4. Using double sided tape I centered the images on the foam core cut outs.

5. Lastly I popped the mounted images into their spots! I decided against putting the glass panes back in because the glare took away from the pictures.  

Voila, new home accessory! Besides the spray painting, I got it done during an episode of Millionaire Matchmaker (for those of you who don’t have a Bravo channel addiction like me, that’s 60 minutes!) Hope you like it and come back for next Tuesday’s Re-Deux!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

