Skip to content

I Wish I Could…

February 24, 2011

January through March are what I call “antsy” months, especially for those of us in the Midwest. We’re tired of being cooped up, and the only time we really go outside for extended amounts of time is to shovel snow. At least, that’s how I’m feeling right now. I’m thinking I would like to take another trip to New York City, where the city is more conducive to being outdoors even in the cold snowy months with outdoor markets and where the main mode of transportation is walking. More specifically, I wish I could be whisked off to the Surrey Hotel on the Upper East Side.

I found out about the Surrey through an article written in Interior Design Magazine. Nestled between Madison and Fifth Avenues, the Surrey is located in the heart of high end shopping. But this is nothing like the nearby iconic Waldorf Astoria or The Carlyle, this is a hotel with edge. The first thing that attracted me to it was the graffiti-style textiles and furniture.

The bar at the Surrey.

Maybe I loved these because they reminded me of something Mel and I would do! This luxury hotel went through a $60 million renovation, directed by Interior Architect Lauren Rottet. The hotel houses Cafe Bouloud, a French restaurant whose namesake (Daniel Bouloud) is not only a James Beard winner, but so is the current chef, Gavin Kaysen.

Cafe Bouloud Private Dining

I wish I could spend the day at the Spa at the Surrey. The staff will customize your experience, from a simple manicure pedicure to a day long spa experience. Sounds good to me!

Entry to the Spa at the Surrey

After all of that, retire to your contemporary room, maybe overlooking Central Park. Along with 100+ standard guest rooms and one bedroom suites, the hotel offers a Presidential Suite and a Penthouse. Even the toiletries are custom in these posh digs.

Presidential suite at the Surrey

Standard guest room at The Surrey

Want an idea of what you’ll pay at The Surrey? Here’s a quick breakdown:

Standard 1 King Bed Room per night: $500+

1 Bedroom Suite per night: $900+

7 course dinner at Cafe Bouloud: $125 per person, +$65 for wine pairings

Manicure treatment: $60

Full day ‘Personal Renewal’: $780 (in suite $1,280)

Now you know why Mel and I haven’t booked a room:) Still beautiful to explore from my laptop and dream about!

Where do you wish you could go?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

