Skip to content

Chit-Chat: Interview with Cristina of the Paper Proposal

March 10, 2011

Introducing a new section to our little home on the world wide web, Chit-Chats.  Interviews with favorites that we admire, whether it be family and friends,  another blogger, and/or creative genius that we haven’t met in real life but want to get to know anyway.

To start off our new section I had a little chit-chat with Cristina, a long-time friend (I’m talking way back to our diaper days, people), wife, mama-to twins, Ella & Addyson (baby girl #3 on the way), and new business owner of The Paper Proposal, an online shop where customizing cards & invitations are her specialty.  Read her answers  below then head over to her Etsy shop to check our her creative, bright, dazzling designs for your next party or announcement.

What’s a typical day at work like?

A typical day for me consists of juggling a couple of two year olds and working. My “workday” usually doesn’t start until my kiddies go down for a nap and then picks up again in the evening. Every other moment is spent being a full time mom. I’d have to say my best design work is done late at night when everyone is asleep.

Why did this type of work interest you?  How’d you get started?

After changing my major four times in college, I was at a loss. I knew I wanted to do something creative, but wasn’t sure where my talents would lie. I can’t sew, draw or paint so stumbling into design was the best thing that’s happened to me. My first job out of college was working for a cooperate office designing marketing materials. While I loved my job, once our girls were born, I opted to stay home. I‘ve always designed my own invitations, birth announcements, etc. and got the idea to take it further. I finally took my “leap” when my sister asked me to design her wedding invitations last summer. That was the piece that gave me the confidence to move forward and pursue my passion. Here I am almost a year later, doing what I love.

What advice do you have for people starting out on the same career path?

Not to quote Nike here, but “Just do it”. The thing that held me back the most was fear of failing. It took a while for me to actually open up shop because I was afraid that my business wouldn’t succeed.

What’s your favorite thing(s) about your job/what you do?

I LOVE the design process, coming up with new concepts or bettering old ones. And being able to work from home is amazing. But I think my very favorite thing is when I send somebody a sample for the first time and get an excited response from the customer. My favorite,.. “I love it!”

What’s in your toolbox?  (What’s your favorite tool, program, medium, etc.?)

I use all of the Adobe software (Indesign, Illustrator, Photoshop).

What are your favorite current trends?

I love bold and big designs, especially on wedding invitations. The invitation is a glimpse inside your wedding day, have fun with it.  I’m also a big fan of the seating chart. These are so much fun and an awesome entrance piece to a reception or event. No matter what it is, I think you should make an impression with every piece.

Who/What inspires you?

My design inspiration comes from everywhere. Color, architecture, billboards, my kids’ clothes, etc, etc. My motivation comes from wanting to do for my family.

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

When I’m not working, I spend all my time with my amazing husband, Chris and out of this world little ladies, Ella, Addyson & soon-to-be baby girl #3.

Anything else you’d like to include?

Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of your website. I LOVE what you guys are doing and can’t wait to see more of it =)

Thank you so much, Cristina, for taking the time out of your busy day to chit-chat with us!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

