Skip to content

52 Re-Deux: Week 16 – Frame to a Chalkboard, for a Tall Guy

April 19, 2011

This week my re-deux was not only fun to make but functional! Earlier this week my fiance was getting ready to cater an event. Since he is new to the industry, he was trying to figure out a way to display a list of the food items he would be selling. Of course, I was quick to offer my help!

I got this awesome frame, and several others, from a trade with my friend Suz’s dad this summer at the Cedarburg Maxwell Street Day festival. To prep I sanded the entire frame, getting all of the loose paint and splinters loose and smoothing it out. Since I wanted a more vintage look, I didn’t apply a primer and sprayed red glossy spray paint right over the gold.

For the chalkboard, I found a 2’x4′ board at Home Depot. I can’t tell you what exactly it is made of, but it reminds me of the drawing boards I bought in art school. I had it cut to size right at the store. I sprayed the board with spray primer. Once that dried I sprayed 2 coats of spray on chalkboard paint.

It was dry and ready in time for Tall Guy & a Grill’s event on Sunday!

Before

After

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

