Skip to content

52 ReDeux-Week 23-Childhood Lamp to Reading Light

June 7, 2011

My fiance brought this faded blue lamp into our relationship. Since we’ve been together, it has resided in the same spot on top of his dresser. When we moved into our current place, we were lacking outlets. So, for a year it has sat-functionless-atop that same dresser. I was never really a fan of it because of the color-very 80’s. Then a couple weeks ago I accidentally knocked it off the dresser and into the hamper (thankfully). When I picked it up, I was surprised to notice that it had an attractive shape. Immediately I went into the living room. “So Dan, that lamp on your dresser…can I paint it?” Resigned to the fact that he’s about to marry a crazy designer who for the rest of his life will experiment with things in his home, he agreed. And he was not disappointed!

Before

After

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A couple of coats of green gloss spray paint and a new burlap shade from Target and my reading lamp was complete! Sorry Dan, this Re-Deux is going on my nightstand:)
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

