Skip to content

52 Re-Deux – Week 29 – Reborn Patio Furniture!

July 19, 2011

This week I’m showing you a transformation that I’ve wanted to do for about 3 years. Mine and The Tall Guy’s first apartment had a cute little patio overlooking a creek, so we thought we had better buy a couple chairs and a table so we could sip wine and enjoy the scenery. Unfortunately, we were broke and wood folding chairs were starting at about $30 each, tables about $40. Undaunted, I marched straight to the Walworth County Antiques Fair and found myself 4 wood folding chairs for $6 each. Once I got those, I realized I had a table that had the same wood slat style. I had bought it a few years before at a junk store in Richmond, IL for $5. Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of the table before (shame on me!), but the wood was very similar to that of the chair.

Patio Chair Before

First I primed the chairs and table with a coat of Kilz. Following that, I coated the table with bright yellow spray paint. I decided to do a stripey yellow and white pattern for the chair, but after I saw the final product I thought it looked a little too ‘circusy’ (I had just seen “Water for Elephants”).

Circus Chair

 
I decided to just paint the whole chair a turquoise/teal color. I think you’ll agree it was the best decision:)
 
After!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mel permalink
    July 20, 2011 10:23 AM

    Yep, solid color looks so much better!

    Like

  2. July 20, 2011 7:47 PM

    I love the turquoise! Such a pretty color. Looks great!

    Like

  3. Gina permalink
    July 23, 2011 2:12 PM

    Love it! Looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

