Skip to content

Macaron Class

February 6, 2012

After a couple of failed attempts, I had all but given up on making macarons. If you’re not familiar, they are those gorgeous colored sandwich cookies gracing food and wedding blogs everywhere. They are a precarious cookie, the wrong amount of air or water and you have to throw the whole batch in the garbage. So you might say, why don’t I just buy them if making them is so difficult? Find them in a bakery, they are about $1 a cookie. That’s right, $12 for 12 cookies! So when I saw the schedule at my local Sur la Table and it included a Valentine’s Day Macaron class, I signed up with my friend Rebecca.

Going through the steps with a trained chef, it was much easier to figure out where I had made mistakes. The biggest mistake I made prior is that I apparently needed to use aged egg whites. The instructor told us to separate the egg whites into a bowl, put cheese cloth over it, and leave it out on the counter for 3 days. Definitely didn’t do that. You also need to double sift your dry ingredients. My arms were quite sore after doing this, but it assures you a lump free macaron. And lastly you probably want to invest in an interior oven thermometer. Macarons cook best at exactly 375. Even the brand new Sur La Table ovens were about 20 degrees off, so I can’t imagine how bad mine at home is!

Even some of the cookies we made in the class did not turn out perfect, but for the most part we all got the hang of it. We also made a yummy chocolate espresso ganache. Some pictures from the day are below. They seem like perfect treats for a tea party…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 5:35 PM

    This looks like so much fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

